Executive Board

Dr. Heiko Fischer (*1967, Würzburg)

Chairman of the Executive Board (CEO)
Dr. Heiko Fischer studied business and economics at the Julius-Maximilians-University in Würzburg, and at the University at Albany, State University of New York, in Albany, NY, where he graduated in 1992 with an MBA. In 1996 he earned his doctorate in economic sciences (Dr. rer. pol.) at the Julius-Maximilians-University in Würzburg. In 1995 Dr. Fischer began his professional career at VTG as manager of the CEO office.

In 1999 he changed to the Rail Division of the former VTG-Lehnkering AG, where he built up the business unit TRANSWAGGON (general cargo rail cars). In 2001 he became managing director of the Rail Division and was responsible for the acquisition and integration of the Brambles European Rail Division.

In May 2004, Dr. Fischer was elected CEO & Chairman of the Executive Board of VTG AG. He is responsible for the Railcar Division as well as human resources, legal & compliance, internal audit, communications and marketing. He furthermore is a non-executive director at NYSE-listed Navigator Holdings Ltd., an LPG shipping company, and currently serves as President of the International Union of Wagon Keepers (UIP) in Brussels.

Günter-Friedrich Maas (*1970, Duisburg)

Chief Logistics and Safety Officer
Günter-Friedrich Maas is the member of the Executive Board responsible for the Logistics and Safety area. He also heads up business development in the rail logistics and tank container logistics divisions.

Originally trained as a logistics manager, he has worked in the logistics industry since 1990. In 1995 he began managing Friedrich Maas Spedition in Duisburg, as General Manager and shareholder. The company was later sold to the Dutch Den Harthogh Group. At Rhenus he managed Rhenus Road and was also General Manager of Rhenus RETrans from 2002 to 2006. From 2007 he continued his career at the Hoyer Group, and besides managing Hoyer Nederland BV, also took over responsibility for the central region in the Chemilog business unit. In 2010 Mr. Maas was made director of this business unit.

In June 2014, Günter Friedrich Maas was appointed to the Executive Board of VTG.

Mark Stevenson (*1963, Guildford, Great Britain)

Chief Financial Officer (CFO)
In his capacity as Chief Financial Officer (CFO), Mark Stevenson is responsible for Accounting, Controlling, Financing & Treasury, General Services, IT, Investor Relations, Strategy & Acquisitions and Tax.

Mr. Stevenson graduated from the University of Oxford before commencing his professional career at Price Waterhouse in London in 1984, ultimately qualifying as a Chartered Accountant in 1987. He joined Swiss firm Revisuisse Price Waterhouse in 1990 and moved to Leutwiler & Partners in 1992 to work in the Strategic Consultancy Department. While there, he was a consultant to AAE and, in 1994, he joined the company to become CFO. He was made CEO of AAE in 2006 and was appointed as member of the VTG Executive Board in May 2015, within the context of the VTG's merger with AAE. Mr. Stevenson served as Chief Investment Officer (CIO) from 2015 until 2018. He became the Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of VTG AG in January 2019.

Supervisory Board

Dr. Jost A. MassenbergMeerbusch, Merchant
Chairman of the VTG Supervisory Board
Dr. Markus C. HottenrottNew York City, Asset Management Employee for Infrastructure Investments at Morgan Stanley Infrastructure
Deputy Chairman of the VTG Supervisory Board
Jens FiegeMünster, Member of the Executive Board of Fiege Group 
Eric Philippe MachielsLondon, Asset Manager and Managing Director at OMERS Infrastructure
Ulrich MüllerHenstedt-Ulzburg, Member of the Executive Board of Joachim Herz Stiftung
Marc van't NoordendeAmsterdam, Asset Management Employee for Infrastructure Investments at Morgan Stanley Infrastructure
Christoph OppenauerFrankfurt am Main, Asset Management Employee for Infrastructure Investments at Morgan Stanley Infrastructure
Prof. Dr. Franca RuhwedelDuisburg, Professor of Finance and Accounting at the University of Rhein-Waal